About Us

The Georgia Engineering Foundation (GEF), chartered in 1971, is dedicated to helping future engineers through philanthropic and educational endeavors related to engineering throughout Georgia. GEF is made up of 14 professional engineering societies and four associate member organizations.

  • Total assets managed are over $600,000.
  • Scholarship and program funding comes from engineering societies; associate member organizations; named Scholarships like the David Smith Memorial Fund, Doris Lavoie Scholarship, Paul Weber Scholarship, Simons Environmental, Kenneth G. Taylor, PE Scholarship, George Bankston Memorial Scholarship, Steve De La Torre Memorial, RDW Fund, Life Member Scholarship Fund (past-presidents), Future Engineers Fund; R. Berl Elder Memorial Scholarship (ACEC/G), plus Individuals, and Corporations.
  • Scholarships awarded to students based on three criteria: financial need, scholastic excellence and community involvement.
  • Since 1985, over 750 students have been awarded scholarships, worth more than half a million dollars. 
  • This year, between 35 and 50 scholarships are expected to be awarded, and over the past several years, annual awards have been valued at over $50,000 each year!
  • Individual scholarships range from $1,000 to $5,000.
  • Between 300-500 scholarship applications are received annually.
  • GEF supports the efforts of MATHCOUNTS, working closely with the Georgia Society of Professional Engineers.
  • GEF supports the Exploring Engineering Academy--a science appreciation two week workshop for seventh and eighth graders at Georgia Tech.
  • GEF gives to the Benjamin E. Mays High School for student travel expenses.
  • Future Engineers Endowment supports academic programs in engineering, science and technology in pre-collegiate educational facilities.

2016-2017 Officers

John Boneberg
President Elect
Beth Harris, CPSM
Vice President
Anita Atkinson, P.E.
Theresa Brunasso
Raymond J. Wilke, P.E.

Scholarship Committee Chair
Julie Secrist, P.E.
Ways & Means Committee Co-Chairs
Mike Ray, P.E.
Steve Poole, P.E.
Publicity Committee Chair
Jack Seibert
Life Members Committee Co-Chairs
Arthur G. Bendelius, P.E
Bill Pennington, P.E.
Membership Committee Chair
Theresa Brunasso
Finance Committee Chair
Raymond J.Wilke, P.E.
Banquet Committee Chair
Beth Harris, CPSM
Projects Committee Co-Chairs
Jim Remich, P.E.
Steve Poole, P.E.